top of page
  • Writer's pictureMien Tran

IRAN - The Overview


Typing the word IRAN on Google, you received a result full of war news.

Mentioning about IRAN,your friends will speak about Muslim, IS, terrorism.

But when you really research about traveling in Iran, you will find that almost people who already been there (like me) confirm how safe and beautiful Iran is.

Shah mosque in centre Isfahan

1.

My first impression of Iran is its modern.

Imam Khomeini Airport is up-to-date and full of trendy woman with wide-leg trouser and a silk scarf wrapped loosely showing a bit of their hair and their beautiful faces elegantly.

The subway ticket is 1.5 cent. Modern. Convenient.
The subway ticket is 1.5 cent. Modern. Convenient.
Hakim Mosque, Isfahan before pray time. The water place is in the middle,where the man in blue shirt stay. There is 1 tap for washing and 2 taps for drinking.

I forgot to take a close-up photo but in many mosques (one in every 500-700 meters) there is free water, cold in summer and warm in winter, to top-up your bottle. I don’t see it in developed countries, but here it is, in Iran.


2.

While walking in the street, I was expected to see people (especially men) stare at a stranger woman like me. In stead, I received ‘Hello, welcome to Iran’ everywhere I go. When someone want to take photo of me or with me, they ask kindly if I accept or not. Wherever I go, I see lovely welcome faces.

When they started to share, many of them concerned about how people from outside world see their country and how I feel when visiting Iran.

I feel their hospitality, their kindness and great manner. I've made amazing friendship and It was one of happiest trip of my life so far.

Of course, you can not ask for safety if you wear cultural-inappropriate outfits, walking alone in a quiet place at night. I can’t say that Iran is as safe as Singapore, but for sure I feel much safer compare to Indonesia or Vietnam.


In all countries I’ve been, there are people who helped me find the road, gave my food and cares sometimes. This is one of the reason why I travel: to gain trust in humanity. However, Iranian's kindness is another level.

I asked a girl to help me take photo in the mosque, after clicking, she put a pendant in my hand, smiled and left. I was speechlessly happy, then I took a photo of it. She came back and gave me a ring of the same set. This time, I managed to keep her for a while, tried to talk to her. In the end, I have a note written in Persian said ‘A memory of a Iranian girl, Friday 12 Sep, 1395’ (It was 2 Sep 2016 in Gregorian calendar)

In some countries, if people give me things, I would refuse to make sure I am safe. But this time, seeing that eyes and that smile, I couldn’t resist. I was really appreciate a little metal accessories from a young girl (I thought that what it is at this time). Through, when I brought them to clean, I found out that they are real silver. It shocked me again, it seems that she comes from different world with me. In the world I live, people hardly give stranger a small gift, not to mention a worthy present like this.

That gift has left a strong mark on me. It also creates a desire to leave a good mark to those I pass by.


3.

The Architecture of Iran impressed me by the way they use simple things to create magic.

Little mirrors with creativity and patient that make breath-taking decoration.
The sparkling room with mirror and the volunteer work of 100 people in 3 years
Nasir-al-mulk or Pink mosque with coloured glass windows in Shraz

4.

Last but not least, Iran is as incredible as what I saw in my researches. The country is beautiful in every centimetre of it.

These are endless source of patterns to explore in the mosque, bazaar and palaces.


Abyaneh Village - one of the oldest village in Iran. It has been there since around 224 AD


Persepolis and Pasargadae are evidences of the first dynasty of the Persian Empire - Achaemenid Empire (6th century BC)


Crossing Iran, you will find beautiful landscapes, historical places merge with modern city and great food.


I could spent days to talk about my experiences in Iran, but better to leave it for you to explore be yourself ! After 2,5 years going around, Iran stays still as my best destination.

276 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page