top of page
  • Writer's pictureMien Tran

How long should we travel ?

Updated: Dec 4, 2018

I planed to travel for 4 years, until I turn 30 then I will come back to settle down. But after a few long trip, I realized that my time isn't count by clock or years anymore.

I experience and feel time differently. So then, when should I stop?


Back in 2015, one night I was sitting alone in the office. At 2a.m. Writing a guideline for a company that only consider me as a translator with Art background. I was also having a long-term relationship at that time, with a guy who thought my love and care is obvious that he doesn’t even need to show his appreciation. Suddenly the feeling I’ve been carried for a long time speak loudly in my head. I have to change my situation. I’m 25 and I have so much more to live for. I’m NOT HAPPY and I need to change that. I started searching for places to go, then I got to Ted talk of Tomoslav Perko – How to travel the world without money. Continuing with sites of travel blogger like Matt Nomardic, Goats on the road or Our wild abandon and I started fantasizing about the Once in a lifetime adventure. Finally I decided to spent 4 years exploring the world, trying to prove that a Vietnamese woman also can travel solo despite of low-profile passport and the world 2nd least valuable currency.

In the beginning I thought would wait for me to have enough money for at least 1 year travel. But with out cheap currency, I don’t want to waste my youth. So I left with a bit of money and just go.

I started off in Myanmar with the help of some friends, then slowly moved to my own path. At the global Koh Rong, I nearly ask for a waitress job  in order to stay and live like other traveller I’ve seen.



However, what meant to be will be. I got several exciting textile projects in Hanoi. So I came back and worked 5 months then continued with my 2nd round: 1 way ticket to Moscow, Russia.



I had unforgettable crazily amazing time in west Russia and Iran. I was awake all the time, walked 10 km each day and still come back to share stories with the host. I thought this is the best decision of my life (still now) and I could continue it forever.

After Russia and Iran, I reached Malaysia with exhausted. I wanted to talk to no one, sharing no story. I spent 2 days in Penang sleep, eat and repeat. I didn’t speak for a week, just continued my daily 10km walk.




After Maylaysia, I spent 2 weeks in Singapore but most of the time in my friend’s apartment doing nothing. I claim that Singapore is too monochromatic and boring (it’s properly true for an artist’s mind).


My mind had no energy to find new angle, I felt unconcerned about life around me. My photos look like things you can easy find in internet.


I moved to Indonesia after those 'dead' weeks. I felt so alive when arriving the rustic chaos Indonesia. I’ve made amazing friends and enjoyed so much my time with them. Instead of travelling, I was attached to those friends and hoping to feel belonging to somewhere.



It was great time but due to visa issue, I came back to Hanoi after 1 month in Java island.

As a Vietnamese passport holder, I have free 1 month visa in Indonesia but unable to extend it. The only way is to go out of Indonesia then come back.

Stoping in Hanoi, I spent time to reflected what’ve been happened. 

I realized my 3 months traveling feels like 3 years, and 1 month at home is like 1 week.

I started thinking about the way I travelled; the way time may be equal for everybody (not in a clock count). I used my 3 years’ time in 3 months, so now one week at home costs me 1 month in real life.



Then here comes my conclusion for now. It doesn’t matter how long or how far you travel. It’s how much you grow, in your own scale (hopefully it’s not include your belly). There is no reason to stop explore the world.

It doesn’t mater if it’s 2 days in your hometown, 1 month in Japan or 6 months just in Shiraz. When you feel your heart can not open for new friendship, your mind can’t absorb new way of thinking, that’s time to stop moving and reflect on your experiences.

And prepare for your next journey!

57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page