top of page
  • Writer's pictureMien Tran

How I took photos of myself when travelling alone ?

Updated: Apr 1, 2019


As a dyslexia person and a photo lover, I recall my memories through photos more than words. Not seeing how I looked and felt in those breath-taking places is a big miss for me. With an uncommon nationality for long-term backpacker and a craving for unusual destinations, it’s hard to find someone with similar plan to travel with, but I can let it ruins either my travel passion or the way I collect memories. So here is how I do it!


ASK FOR HELP

It’s not just the easiest way for your photos but also an easy, less awkward way to start a conversation with strangers. Everybody is a like a book, so why don’t we try to see something more than just a cover? You may find the most inspirational story behind a simple rough cover.

My travelling has been far more exciting because of those people who helped me on the road, not just for my photos but also for direction, food, transport and many more.

* I don't use internet often, it push me reach out to people around me.



JUST TRY AGAIN, AND AGAIN, and again.

I’m sure there will be someone willing to help. Another effective way is making friend first (through Couch Surfing maybe), then explore the place together with massive amount of photos and memories.



WELL…. It depends on your luck!

Or your instinct. I believe traveling solo is a way to train your instinct. The more people you meet; the more experiences you get for your ‘human skill’


There is a theory that positive energy will bring positive people. Through my experiences, good people are much more than bad people.

During my 2000 photos taken by strangers, I haven’t fail gaining trust in humanity.


It’s time for sharing some knowledge.

Or to challenge your explaining ability. Einstein said “if you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough”.

If both doesn’t work, you still have the communication experiences. And plenty of funny photos:

Too much funny unwanted photos in Laos gave me the idea to write this post. Not to mention, all of these photos are 2nd take, not the 1st one.


However, it’s just a negative side. Sometime people (include the one who have never touch a DSRL before) took much better photos that I would expect.


I was aiming at lower angle when I give the guy my camera, but since he is much taller than me, this photo was taken at better angle than I thought it would be.


I didn’t ask an egg seller to put the leaves in the frame. But he did. It would be a boring photo without the leaf.


I wasn’t look at the camera when the woman took this photo, but isn’t it natural and happy. I did a multi-shot so I do have a few photos with straight angle, but this photo is much more than the others.


The village woman was scared when I gave her my camera. Then this old lady just acted more friendly with me in order to support her neighbour. That also helped other people in this untouched village in Phong Sali more opened to me. Thus I could play with the kid and walked into their house.


Don’t mention if you are lucky enough to meet a photographer that passionate enough to even change his lens into your camera for better shot. Here I am (and the dress I embroidered) in a wider frame.


Luckier if they go in the same path with you, you may even have a series of great photo that you want to print out and hang on your wall.


BE CREATIVE

Use any flat surface, branch, metal around you to hang or put your camera. Then set it on self-timer and just have fun with yourself. Here are several ways I did when traveling alone:

1. Try the floor. I forget to take a photo of my camera in this position, so here what it

looks like from above:

Remember to be creative when using your camera strap as support for un-flat surface, and your leaflet or map as dust protection. And here is the result:

2. You can also hang your camera anywhere by using strap to hold your lens. Adjusting where the strap meet your lens to find balance.





And the results:

I feel more comfortable in front of just only my camera, and no one around.


You also can crop your photo after. I always try widest frame I can get when taking ‘selfie’.


3. Still not confident, for better quality pictures you can also still hold your big camera and take a normal selfie.


Especially when your camera is the most valuable things you have, like me. However, things only worth by how much happiness it brings to you. So use it if you want to record the moments. If scratching it hurts you more than those memories records, then keep your baby safe and enjoy the scenes. Be easy with your life. You are traveling to be happy, not to show anyone.


Of course there are some real tips when taking those photos:

  1. Being comfortable with yourself with a positive attitude when being a ‘model’. I don’t feel necessary to practice in front of a mirror for your better poses, side of the face… but I heart it also help. Other while, just being nature as you are. And don’t forget to wear your smile.

  2. Take a test photo to see what you want in the frame before doing self-timer or giving your camera for someone else.

  3. Always tell the person who help which place you want to see your self in the frame, what are the important you want to appear in your photo (the top of a temple, a sculpture on the side).

  4. If they understand your langue, set the frame for them, then ask them to tell you where to move to your wanted location.

  5. Not so many people can whole the heavy camera, so set it at higher speed than usual and multi-shot. So you have many photos to choose later.

  6. In case you do it alone, try a widest frame you can get. Then you can crop it after.

  7. Even if you do all of these think, maybe you still couldn’t get what you want. But it means you are collecting your luck for the next time!!

Happy travel !!

125 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page